Humidifier to new furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-29-16, 05:36 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifier to new furnace

Hi all, I have a new furnace Goodman's GMVC96 and have kept my old humidifier which ran well with my old furnace. I'm confused as to where it gets wired to the new furnace. I have a HUM-IN , a HUM-OUT and a HUM terminal. I know that the white wire goes to a neutral terminal but where would the red wire go if I want to run the humidifier during a heat call only?

Below is the manual link and the wiring diagram is on page 54.

https://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&sourc...FBenymsq_N4Oyw

Thanks in advance for your input!!

Edward
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-29-16, 05:45 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I forgot to mention my humidifier is a General 1042-L
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-16, 11:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Hang tight before making any connections as it's slightly confusing.

You have a HUM terminal that outputs 120vac only. That output and neutral supply the humidifier with 120vac. This HUM terminal is always active on a call for heat.


Then you have HUM IN and HUM OUT terminals. These are two connections directly to a relay. You can connect them with what ever voltage you want. According to the manual... this relay operates when programmed with the communicating thermostat. I don't know if it works without the communicating or legacy stat.

You could check these the terminals with an ohmmeter. On a call for heat there should be a short across HUM IN and HUM OUT.

Let me know.
 
  #4  
Old 08-31-16, 05:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your prompt reply! I will try and get hold of a ohmmeter and let you know what I find. If I was to connect the two wires out of the humidifier, one to a neutral terminal and the other to the HUM terminal, shouldn't that do the trick? Thanks again!
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-16, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
NO...... The HUM terminal is 120vac.

In order to use HUM and Neutral..... you'd need to connect a 120vac > 24vac transformer there and then use the 24v to power the humidifier.
 
  #6  
Old 09-01-16, 06:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok great, so If I'm understanding you correctly, would this image be correct for the humidifier to come on during heat call?

Name:  wiring.JPG
Views: 89
Size:  22.2 KB

Generally everything's wired up. The only wires that are not connected are the two that go into the furnace which haven't been connected since I had the new furnace installed.

I really appreciate your help.
 
  #7  
Old 09-01-16, 09:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Yes....that diagram will work.

This is assuming that the HUM IN and HUM OUT terminals are not usable.
 
  #8  
Old 09-01-16, 12:17 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great thats a good start.

Now the HUM-IN and HUM-OUT are not being used, is there a more practical way to set up the humidifier by using these terminals?

Thanks again
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: