Aprilaire 560 + Nest + Lennox EL296UHV

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-16, 09:17 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 560 + Nest + Lennox EL296UHV

So when I wire it as described in the Aprilaire 550 thread, the Nest detects a wire but does not switch the solenoid on. I've tested the solenoid and it does work.

There is also a transformer in my setup, when the original nest was installed, the installer removed the aprilaire humidistat and wired it all using, I believe, a relay and the transformer.

The two yellow wires from our apriliare 560 are wired to a white and red wire:


transformer:


When we purchased a new furnace, the installer neglected to re-wire the Nest to the humidifier, and then was unable to do so. I'm willing to concede there may be something wrong with the nest, the tranformer, the relay or the wiring, but if anyone has any insight it would be greatly appreciated.

I tried to use this, the nest detected the wiring, but the solenoid did not switch when tested:


I believe the original, successful, installer, used this relay, but I have no idea whether it would make a difference:


If anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-16, 05:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not quite sure where you are here and if you need my help.
That relay you've shown can be used but the wiring is completely different from my diagram where the relay has four terminals.

Getting the C to the nest is a worthwhile investment in reliability.

Is that a typo with the model... Aprilaire 560 ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-16, 09:24 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well i've done everything as described for mikepfly2's config on his 550 and I've also followed another schematic for wiring the aprilaire to a transformer through a relay, but neither have worked. I am running a C wire from my nest to the furnace and in then to the solenoid or relay, depending on whether the transformer is being used. in both cases the nest is "seeing" the humidifier through the * wire, but it isn't switching on the solenoid during tests.

I'm just not sure what else I could try, or if there's a chance the relay I'm using isn't working.

I appreciate any thoughts on this.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-16, 10:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You didn't confirm if you were using that relay you posted. It's a DPDT relay and it's part # 90-340. The following picture shows you which terminals to use.

Name:  O0yU5Je.png
Views: 540
Size:  195.8 KB

So based on the drawing you are looking at.....
C connects to one blue terminal.
* connects to the other blue terminal.
One wire from the transformer to terminal 1.
One wire from the solenoid to terminal 3.
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-16, 12:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I merged your two threads into this one.
You didn't answer me in regards to the model number of Aprilaire 560.
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-16, 06:14 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
right, thanks for discussing this without all the info PJMax.

It is a 560- no typo there, and I was using the relay pictured next to the diagram, not the honeywell.
 
  #7  
Old 12-11-16, 12:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Just to confirm.... your humidifier just has a two wire solenoid that you supply with 24vac to operate..... correct ?

Some of these older models had their own internal transformers.
 
  #8  
Old 12-11-16, 03:02 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that's right. there is no internal transformer connected to it but it was connected to a transformer adjacent to it, which i've depicted in the original post.
 
  #9  
Old 12-11-16, 03:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Thanks.
I've gotten into trouble on some of the older units as they had their own internal transformer.

So you should be all set to go.
 
  #10  
Old 12-11-16, 06:59 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sadly no. The solenoid is not activating.
 
  #11  
Old 12-11-16, 07:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Here's the diagram drawn out.

If it doesn't work.... short from 1 to 3 on relay. Does it work now ?
If not.... take a jumper from R and touch it to the same terminal the * is connected to.
Does the relay click ?

Name:  wPy9rUv.png
Views: 918
Size:  108.4 KB
 
  #12  
Old 12-13-16, 07:19 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope to give this a try tomorrow PJMax. Thanks for your help.
 
  #13  
Old 12-14-16, 07:49 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, solenoid opens when I short 1 & 3.
 
  #14  
Old 12-14-16, 08:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Ok... so your humidifier wiring is good.
Now you need to make sure the relay works by connected R to the * terminal on the relay.
 
  #15  
Old 12-15-16, 06:46 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey Pete, I tested the relay by jumping R and * and it clicked.
 
  #16  
Old 12-16-16, 01:29 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was wondering if I should test whether the * wire is getting power? Many people have tried to get this thing up and running and i'm wondering if the wire exposed at the humidifier, that I assume is the * wire, is the same wire that is at the * terminal to the nest.
 
  #17  
Old 12-21-16, 01:15 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
any other thoughts on this? I can't seem to get anyone to even look at it.
 
  #18  
Old 12-23-16, 08:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Everything appears to be working.

One last test you can do. Short * to R at the nest.
If the relay clicks and the humidifier starts..... you have a problem with the nest.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: