Honeywell HE280 and narrow duct

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-16, 06:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell HE280 and narrow duct

Gentlemen, I'm sorry if I ask this (kind of) again. I've searched the forum but couldn't be a 100% since some pictures can't be seen anymore.
My question is regarding installing my new HE280 humidifier in the return(cold) duct. It has only 8" of width. I feel that filling up the gaps and exposing a smaller hole might affect the performance of the device. Wouldn't it? See picture:

I could perhaps installing on the left side of the duct (wider) but access is hard and I'm not sure the flexible tube would reach the other duct.
The option of installing on the warm side may not be possible, since the AC coil is right there and I don't think I will have space before the Y. Here's the whole scenario:


Any suggestions?
Thank you - Joe

Name:  IMG_9391.jpg
Views: 137
Size:  34.0 KB

Name:  IMG_9392.jpg
Views: 115
Size:  29.8 KB

Name:  IMG_9393.jpg
Views: 115
Size:  31.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-20-16 at 10:52 PM. Reason: added pics from links
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-16, 10:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Posted your pictures for you. Will be back.
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-16, 02:46 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pete! I've tried using the image first, but they looked broken as well.
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-16, 05:34 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Guys, any idea on this? Should I return it and look for another option?
Thank you

Joe
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-16, 05:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, I called Honeywell today and they said I can't use the 8" duct. I will return the humidifier and likely use a (non-bypass) model, straight on the furnace duct.

Thank you

Joe
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: