Another Aprilaire 500M / ecobee3 install question/problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-08-17, 08:58 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Huron, MI
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another Aprilaire 500M / ecobee3 install question/problem

I seem to have a very basic setup, now that I just ran new 8-wire wire from my ecobee3 to my furnace. (I had only 4 before and used the PEK.) I installed a new Aprilaire 500M bypass humidifier, but it never engages. Since I had the new wires, I thought I'd just connect ACC+ and ACC- directly to the solenoid valve on the Humidifier, and leave the manual humidistat and the 120/24VAC transformer out of the mix.

This setup, however is not working, as the solenoid never opens with a call for humidity.

I setup the ecobee settings for 2-wires evaporative. I have also verified that the humidifier itself works, when given a constant 24vac from the transformer, instead of connected to Acc+ and Acc-.

Reading through the last post on this issue, it seems like the answer was to go from a 2-wire to a 1-wire setup? Here's a diagram of how I have it currently, including the disconnected transformer and humidistat, but please use my terminal designations on those if I should connect some of those to various other things.



Thanks in advance for your help,

Jeremy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-08-17, 10:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,146
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I changed your diagram. Set stat up for one wire operation.
Not sure what the letter T on furnace stands for. It should be C.
Since this is AC... there is no polarity to follow.

Name:  eawrsMp.jpg
Views: 1760
Size:  16.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-17, 11:30 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Huron, MI
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome! Did the trick. The T vs. C was confusing when I first connected everything, but the wires were blue, and trying to decipher the diagram on the door of the furnace, I had concluded that it was indeed a "C" as it connected to a C at some point (It's a Lennox from the early 90s.)

Quick follow up questions: Why didn't "2-wire" work in this situation?
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-17, 11:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,146
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I can't answer that question as I'm not totally familiar with that stat.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: