Aprilaire 550 setup with Trane XV95 and ecobee 3

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-17, 11:06 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 550 setup with Trane XV95 and ecobee 3

Hello,

I'm trying to connect an Aprilaire 550 evaporative humidifier to my Trane XV95 furnace. Currently, the humidifier is wired directly to a 24V transformer and water flow is governed exclusively by a plenum mounted humidistat.

I'd like to at a minimum, connect the solenoid power to the furnace so that the humidistat is activated in conjunction with the call for heat. Ideally, I'd like to bypass the humidistat entirely and use the ecobee 3 to control the solenoid.

This document contains the electrical specs for the furnace control board. There are HUM spade connectors, but they're 120V. My idea, and please correct me if I'm wrong, was to wire the 24V transformer's 120V connection to the HUM spades. Would that work?

Additionally, there's a BK screw connector on the thermostat terminals that according to that same manual is where the humidifier control would go. Would I connect a wire leading to the ACC connector on my thermostat there?

Currently, the wiring is as such:

Aprilaire 550 - solenoid to 24V transformer with inline plenum mounted humidistat.

Furnace - thermostat:

W2 - W2
W1 - W1
R - Rc
G - G
B/C - C
Y - Y

BK, YLO and O are unused on the furnace. B/C and Y have connectors going to the A/C unit outside as well.

O/B, Rh, Y2, ACC+, ACC- are unused on the thermostat.

I have two extra unused conductors on the existing thermostat wire.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-17, 12:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If you really want to control it from the Ecobee..... it's fairly easy.

One of the yellow solenoid wires gets connected to the B/C terminal on the furnace.
The other yellow solenoid wire gets connected to the ACC+ terminal on the Ecobee.
Set the Ecobee up for one wire humidifier application.

The separate transformer and old humidistat are no longer used.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-17, 12:58 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much, Pete!

I had read that putting the solenoid on the C connector is additional "load" on the control board and should be avoided if possible. Or is this only if you also have additional things connected there as well?

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-17, 01:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Older furnaces had smaller 20w transformers. Most newer ones use a 40w one and have no problems running the humidifier.

The load is actually on the transformer.... not the control board.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-17, 01:58 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see, would there be an accuracy benefit in terms of the humidity level of using the plenum mounted humidistat versus the ecobee?

The thermostat is mounted on the main floor about 4 feet above a return and 6 feet from the door. It's a two storey semi-detached built in 1913 with returns only on the main floor.
 
  #6  
Old 01-15-17, 02:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
I'm using the return plenum hstat but the one mounted in the living quarters is more accurate.
I just never got around to moving it.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-17, 02:25 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And just so I know, and perhaps for the internet's benefit, how would I wire it if I chose to use the plenum hstat whenever the heat is called?

Many thanks for your invaluable help!
 
  #8  
Old 01-15-17, 03:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
In that case you would use the following......

Name:  CC - Copy.jpg
Views: 721
Size:  9.4 KB
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: