Aprilaire 550

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-17, 08:35 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 550

My Aprilaire stopped working some time over the last couple of months. I replaced the solenoid valve and humidistat and it still doesn't work. In fact, I replaced the new solenoid valve with another one because I was so convinced that was the problem. It doesn't seem to be. If i remove the humudistat from the circuit and connect the two wires together this doesn't open the solenoid valve. Any suggestions would be much appreciated, I'm completely stuck.
I should add there's no problem with the water supply to the solenoid. The solenoid doesn't make any noise and does not allow water to pass through. Thanks.
 

Last edited by Legolizard; 02-03-17 at 08:48 PM. Reason: Add more info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-17, 11:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,147
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm guessing you have the two wire manual humidistat. Basically it's just a switch so if you short the two wires together and nothing happens... you don't have your switched 24vac source.

When you shorted the two wires... the furnace should have been in heating mode.

You'll need to follow the wiring back into the furnace to see where it connects.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-17, 09:18 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help. You assumed correctly about the humidistat. I removed it from the circuit and tied the cables together. Then I made sure the furnace and fan were running and checked the DCV going to the solenoid and it read 0V. As far as i can tell from the wiring the only thing I haven't accounted for so far is the furnace part of the circuit. Is there a control switch on the control board of the furnace that only gives power to the humidifier when the fan is running? The furnace is only a year old so I never thought that could be an issue. Thanks again.
 

Last edited by Legolizard; 02-04-17 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Fix typos
  #4  
Old 02-04-17, 09:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,147
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
The voltage we're working with is AC.... 24v.

Usually the control board is on the lower section where the blower is.
Remove the door and see if you can locate it.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-17, 09:44 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I Obviously need help. I rechecked acv and still nothing.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-17, 09:48 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Damn it. I opened both doors to the furnace and it looks like the wires for the solenoid valve are not connected to anything, just tucked in the back. I can't believe the installers just didn't hook it up. I guess i'm going to have to try and work out where the humidistat cables end up. Thanks and sorry for wasting your time.
 

Last edited by Legolizard; 02-04-17 at 09:50 AM. Reason: Fix typo
  #7  
Old 02-04-17, 10:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,147
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
No problem !

Post a picture of the control board or the part number on it.
The make and model of the furnace would also be helpful.

I'll help you get it connected.
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-17, 11:38 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi,
I attached two pictures. One of the board and one zoomed in the region I think is where the wires should go. Also, I don't think the wires will reach. Do I need anything special. I have some left over cable from when I replaced a light - would that be OK?


http://imageshack.com/a/img924/7094/Zi2vcJ.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img923/6007/iFzMyC.jpg
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-17, 11:08 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pete, thanks again for your time. I was able to get the original furnace installers to come and wire the solenoid in. Glad I found this site! It's going to be a great reference point.
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-17, 11:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,147
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Great news. Thanks for letting me know how you made out.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: