Aprilaire 60 humidistat wiring w/ York dual stage HP & Gas Furn

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-17, 10:56 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 60 humidistat wiring w/ York dual stage HP & Gas Furn

My 56 humidistat died so thought I'd go with the 60. I've a question of the "W" connection.
The system is a York Affinity with dual stage heat pump and gas furnace, Honeywell TH8320U stat. As to the other humidistat wiring it seems straight forward.

The stat has

Y2 black wired to HP Y2
E Tan wired to Furn W1
Aux white wired to HP W
Others are standard R,O,Y1,G & C

I'm thinking that I attached the humidstat "W" to W1 on furnace. But this wiring has me wondering. Any input is appreciated.

HP codes are:
R-Red
O-Orange
Y-Yellow
Y1 out - pink
C- Blue
W2 out - Tan
W1 out - Brown
Y2 - Black
W - White

Name:  image3.JPG
Views: 367
Size:  47.8 KBName:  image2.JPG
Views: 501
Size:  25.4 KB
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-17, 11:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Dual stage heat pump and gas furnace ?
Odd combination for an area that doesn't require a lot of heat.
Is low humidity really a problem there ?


The Honeywell 8321 has the humidity control built in.
You've got a problem as you need to select whether the humidifier works with the heat pump, furnace or both.

If the thermostat controls the blower in hp and furnace mode.... you could try connecting the W line to G on the furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-17, 02:52 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To clarify the Thermostat is a TH8320, which doesn't appear to have humidity controls.

How about wiring the humidistat to the Y1 terminal? It will know if there needs to be humidity added so being active in cool and heat will make no difference. As I read it Y1 will energize for heat or cooling and O tells it to think heat. Will this allow the auxiliary furnace to energize it since Y1 should still be energized under normal switch over? In this climate we almost never need humidity with cooling in residence (likely would need heat to remove humidity) and in the winter the heating cycle results in a need for humidity.

Why don't they send full schematics with this stuff, it would make it easier to figure out what they are doing.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-17, 03:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
They will not allow themselves to be put in a liability issue.

I know you have the 8320. Had you bought the 8321 this job would be easy.

The Y1 is only active when the compressor is active.
How about when the furnace is on ? No humidity required then ?
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-17, 03:57 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your input. I'll try the W jumper to G, last ditch I could jumper to the R terminal it will just think heat all the time. Power for the Humidifier relay is by separate transformer powered by EAC terminal on the main furnace control - since this is only energized during blower on I'll leave it there rather than rewiring to be energized all the time.

Do you see any error in this logic?
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-17, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
The automatic humidistat needs constant power to operate and monitor.
The humidistat activates the humidifier when the humidity demands and there is 24v on an input terminal......like W.

You don't need anything controlled by the EAC terminal. I'm not sure what relay you are referring to.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: