Aprilaire 600 solenoid will not close Nest

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-17, 08:06 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 600 solenoid will not close Nest

I hooked my Aprilaire 600 up to my Luxaire Acclimate 9m furnace with this diagram.Name:  BDPNESTWITHNONPOWEREDHUM.jpg
Views: 698
Size:  16.8 KB
My issue is that no matter what the solenoid does not close so the water is always flowing through.
If I kill power to the solenoid it closes but that is the only time.
Any thoughts on the issue?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-17, 08:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Did you use that exact relay or possibly the five terminal one ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-17, 08:25 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the relay I currently have attached:
https://www.grainger.com/product/GRA...an-Relay-6AZU2
 
  #4  
Old 02-17-17, 08:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
I added labeling. Verify it's the way you have it wired.

Name:  BDPNESTWITHNONPOWEREDHUM.jpg
Views: 428
Size:  19.3 KB
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-17, 08:58 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct, that is how I have it wired. I have a wire from my furnace C terminal connected to three wires. 1 going to my Nest as a common, one going to terminal 1 of the coil and the other going to terminal 2 of the load. I then Have terminal 4 of the load connected to the solenoid and terminal 3 of the coil connected to the * of my Nest.

I currently have 3 disconnected so the solenoid would turn off.
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-17, 08:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Sorry.....had to run back out to work.

The relay has four terminals. Temporarily connect 24vac to just the coil.
The relay should click. If it doesn't.... it's bad.

With just the load side connected..... nothing on the coil side.... if the solenoid is powered... the relay is bad.

With no power on the coil...... the load side must be open.
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-17, 06:49 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The relay has four terminals. Temporarily connect 24vac to just the coil.
The relay should click. If it doesn't.... it's bad.
The Relay clicks then starts to 'hum'
With just the load side connected..... nothing on the coil side.... if the solenoid is powered... the relay is bad.
There is no power if I disconnect the coil and leave just the load
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-17, 09:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Ok... so the relay is not stuck closed. The load side wiring is ok.

When you supply 24vac to the relay..... you should hear a sharp click and no hum or buzz.
If you have a meter.... confirm that you actually have 24vac there.

For the most part.... those relays are pretty reliable. I've never had a defective one out of the box..... but it can happen.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: