Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers
Reload this Page >

Need some wiring help with Aprilaire 500 on a Carrier Inifinity Heat Pump

Need some wiring help with Aprilaire 500 on a Carrier Inifinity Heat Pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-17, 11:07 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need some wiring help with Aprilaire 500 on a Carrier Inifinity Heat Pump

I have been wiring with my buddy who owns an hvac business and he is a bit stumped too since he has never installed this unit. I have all the hardware and water lines ready to go.

At this point I am just looking to install in manual mode if that makes it easier.

I know the HUM terminal is giving me 24v so I do not need the included transformer.
I can not for the life of me figure out the rest. I even bough an Aprilaire current sensing relay but the wires going to the blower do not produce enough, if any, amps to close the relay. I included a picture of the wiring to the fan and there are 6 wires. The 2 on the left i assume are the 220 coming in as they are both constantly hot with 110v each. The other 4 wires do not seem to give any readings with the fan on or even off. The green/yellow is ground.

Is there another way to get this hooked up? I really would like to have it turn on just when it calls for heat as the heat pump will probably do no good calling for water with just the fan.

I do have it connected to hot water pipe only about 3 feet from humidifier.

Heat pump is a Carrier Infinity FE4ANF002

Any and all help is very very much appreciated. Have a sick little 3 year old boy and would like to get some humidity before the cold sets in. Thanks!

Chris

Name:  20170311_125145_resized.jpg
Views: 652
Size:  35.9 KB
Name:  20170311_125153_resized.jpg
Views: 637
Size:  50.5 KB
Name:  20170311_125237_resized.jpg
Views: 663
Size:  30.9 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-17, 12:27 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Run the 2 wires from the solenoid valve to C and W.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-17, 01:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
500A or 500M ?

The A has the electronic humidistat and the M has the two wire manual one.

With the current sense relay..... you loop the neutral thru twice to double the registered current.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-17, 01:27 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bought the A model but I can use it in manual right? I used your "tried and true" wiring but it did not match up s there were no wires going "into" the heat pump from my indoor thermostat like on the diagram.

I dont know which wire is neutral. Like I said they were either hot with 120 always or dead. Very weird.

I will try the C and W connection right from the valve...will that mean basically when I turn my heat on from inside it will flow water?

Thanks for everyones quick reply. I feel like im getting closer.

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-17, 01:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
You're missing something. The wires go from the thermostat to the inside unit first and then to the outside unit.

The terminals on that control board are for connection to the stat.
(nothing comes out the C and W terminals).

You may have a communicating system with a control module.
We need more pics of the inside unit.
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-17, 01:50 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK I hooked up just the W and C terminals direct to the water solenoid and nothing happened when I turned on the heat. I attached more pictures of the unit in my garage. Let me know what other info you may need. I do have the outdoor air temp sensor ran but I'm still just looking to have it run when the fan runs. If you can figure out a wiring diagram for my situation i would be grateful. Also if you need another angle or picture I will be happy to get one. Thanks.

Chris
Name:  20170311_164453_resized.jpg
Views: 569
Size:  37.3 KBName:  20170311_125153_resized_1.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  50.5 KBName:  20170311_125237_resized_1.jpg
Views: 526
Size:  30.9 KBName:  20170311_164503_resized.jpg
Views: 611
Size:  50.5 KBName:  20170311_164512_resized.jpg
Views: 493
Size:  31.7 KBName:  20170311_164519_resized.jpg
Views: 595
Size:  46.7 KBName:  20170311_164531_resized.jpg
Views: 733
Size:  50.6 KBName:  20170311_164601_resized.jpg
Views: 762
Size:  19.4 KB
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-17, 02:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
I don't know that system intimately. It is the Carrier infinity communicating system. Actually a very good system. That stat may control humidifier control.

At the control board..... try using C and HUM.... with the heat on.
If it doesn't work we have to look into the stat programming.

Bypass Humidifiers
A bypass humidifier should be wired directly to the furnace or fan coil HUM and 24VAC COM terminals. The Infinity Control will automatically energize the HUM output during a call for
humidification.


=========================================================
I looked further. That stat is like $600. It does control humidity. If you have the book for it.... look it over and see if it tells you how to set it.

Carrier-Thermostat-Infinity-Control-Model-SYSTXCCUID01-V-Installation-Instructions.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 03-11-17, 02:37 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

Got it! It was just that simple. Dont even need the model 60 that came with the unit. As soon as it called for heat, it turned on. I did have to go in and progrm it to say there was a humidifier but no biggie.

Thanks so much for the help. I imagine this will be good enough given this is not a gas furnace. I dont know how much more it can do with just calling for the fan to come on with no heat. I cant see it doing much.

Anyway, thanks for the help. I was about to go crazy. Is there a tip jar in here?
 
  #9  
Old 03-11-17, 03:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,099
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
Nope.... no tip jar. Have one on me.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: