Nest Gen2 Dehumidifier


  #1  
Old 08-30-17, 07:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nest Gen2 Dehumidifier

Hi,

I tried to connect my dehumidifiers to my Nest Gen2.

Here is how my dehumidifier is actually plugged.

On my dehum, I have 2 cables Grey and Red that is going to my furnace.
I traced the cables into my furnace and the grey is going to my dehumstat and the red is plugged to the R on the furnace motherboard and to the Rc of my Nest.

The actual dehumstat has 2 cables, the grey above and a purple, I also traced the purple cable in the furnace and this one is going to the C of the furnace motherboard and the C of the Nest.
How can I plug my dehumidifier to my nest? Do I need a relay?

Thanks a lot
 
  #2  
Old 08-30-17, 08:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,063
Received 3,596 Upvotes on 3,225 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You want to connect a humidifier or a dehumidifier ?
What is the make and model of the unit ?

In order for the nest to run that unit..... you will need one spare wire in the thermostat cable between the furnace and the nest. Make sure you have that.
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-17, 05:07 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi

It's a dehumidifier.

The dehumidifier is a aeromatic air2000 model 7500
And my Furnace is Goodman model ARUF303016CA

I attached some pictures on how it's actually plugged and also cables from my dehumidifier to my actual dehumstat.

I have extra cables if needed

Thanks for your help
 
Attached Images    
  #4  
Old 08-31-17, 05:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,063
Received 3,596 Upvotes on 3,225 Posts
Sorry.... I can't tell from the pics what is actually going on.
Nor could I find any online info in English on that unit which doesn't seem to be sold here in the States.

Here's what I need to know. Does your unit need 24vac applied to two wires to make it operate or is it just connecting two wires starts it running.
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-17, 06:42 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,494
Received 91 Upvotes on 83 Posts
Looks like what you have is technically an air handler and a heat recovery air exchanger/ventilator.

The old humidistat is switching the common (C) but the Nest switches the hot (R) so you need to do a bit of rewiring.

Turn off power
Disconnect the grey and purple wires on both ends.
Disconnect the red wire going to the air2000 from the R at the furnace.
Instead connect that red wire to the purple at the furnace.
Connect the green to C at the furnace.
Connect the purple wire to the * at the Nest.
Turn on power and tell the Nest that the * is for dehumidification
 
  #6  
Old 09-04-17, 05:48 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I read the installation guide and it said that the 2 cables of the dehumstat need 24V to operate.
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-17, 06:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,063
Received 3,596 Upvotes on 3,225 Posts
The two "wires" of the dehumidifier need 24vac to operate ?

I see a red wire and a black wire connected to your dehum unit. Find that cable at the air handler. The black wire now needs to connect directly to the black splice at the air handler and the red wire goes to the * at the nest.
 
  #8  
Old 09-04-17, 07:30 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just follow the Astuff recommendations and it worked. The flaps of the dehumidifier open and close depending the % programmed on the Nest.

On the Nest, I have 2 settings dehumidification independent or dehumidification with air conditioning which one to use?

Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 09-04-17, 07:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 63,063
Received 3,596 Upvotes on 3,225 Posts
Since there doesn't appear to be any type of fan in that unit....
I'd think you'd want dehumidify with A/C.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: