Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers
Reload this Page >

Aprilaire 700 new installation and it is turning on the AC condensing unit

Aprilaire 700 new installation and it is turning on the AC condensing unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-28-17, 08:56 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 700 new installation and it is turning on the AC condensing unit

Hello everyone,

I am new the forum. I read very good information on humidifiers here so I decided to join and ask for some advice here. Over the weekend I installed a new Aprilaire 700 with automatic controller model 60. I haven't installed the outdoor sensor yet and I wanted to test it in Manual mode for now and according to instructions I set the humidistat to manual and also turned Blower Activation to OFF position. Humidifier is installed on the supply duct and humidistat is on the return as instructed in the installation manual.
My house is built in 2016 and it also has a fresh air ventilation system that comes on every couple of hours to bring fresh air.
I followed wiring diagram per instructions that was included with humidfier and also used the 24 VAC connected directly to 110V to provide continuous power. I noticed that when ventilation system calls for fresh air then the humidistat is also starting (which is good) but at this time the AC condensing unit outside is also starts and then the blower continues running and so is the condensing unit. From touching the coils casing in the basement you can tell the AC coils are refrigerating and cool air is coming from vents.
I checked thermostat and it is set to heat and not cool and also checked the Y terminal on the board and there is nothing connected to it besides thermostat and condensing unit.
For now I have the fresh air ventilation system off and humidifer is manual so it only comes on during heat cycles. I wanted to see if somebody could tell me what the issue could be.
My furnace is Amana (Goodman) model: GM88920804CNAA.
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-28-17, 09:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I would not wire/allow the humidistat to turn the blower on. If you notice in all my diagrams here..... the G and Gf terminals on the humidistat are not used.

Please repost the correct furnace model number.

This is my wiring recommendation.
Name:  700_newer -small.JPG
Views: 783
Size:  44.2 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-17, 10:21 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bought the 700 Automatic to have humidifier running without heat because here in Colorado it gets really dry. Below is a picture of my furnace sticker and BTW the furnace actually says Amana Distinctions on the back.

http://imageshack.com/a/img923/6465/6xaSuV.jpg
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-17, 10:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Your model number is GMSS920804CNAA.
I should have realized the 8's were S's in your post.

Can you post another picture of just the wiring on the furnace board. Try separating the cables a little bit. It looks like you used the green from the condensor instead of the green for the thermostat.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-28-17 at 10:49 AM.
  #5  
Old 11-28-17, 10:48 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That explains why I couldn't find any manual's online when searching for that model number. But I just looked the manual and all wiring is matching and condensing unit is only connected to Y and C on the board but I am not sure why humidifier is trying to turn it on.
 
  #6  
Old 11-28-17, 10:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
I made a correction post to my last thread.

One manual... GMCSS9-INS.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 11-28-17, 11:00 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will label the wires from that picture as I am at work but I will take more pictures when I get home.

Thanks,
 
  #8  
Old 11-28-17, 12:15 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tried to label the wires that are connecting to furnace board. The G from thermostat is connecting to G from Fresh air damper control and humidistat. That is the wire nut with 2 greens and one yellow. The condensing unit is using only 2 wires one connected to Y and C only. I have traced all the wires to make sure they are going to the correct control.


http://imageshack.com/a/img923/2815/wkcD3M.jpg
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-17, 07:08 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Daisy chain controllers

Hi everyone,

Thanks to Pete for now i have got both systems working but the problem is humidifier is only coming on during heat cycle. How can I daisy chain these 2 controllers with furnace so they can continue to work as designed to call for fan when needed without causing problem?
I think the G n Gf on the 2 controllers are causing conflict and that's probably why the condensing unit comes on.
i have researched online but haven't seen any diagrams to talk about this ecept the following but it is not very clear to me so if someone could collaborate and provide and explanation based on pictures of my controllers, i will really appreciate it.



thanks,
 
  #10  
Old 12-01-17, 10:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You mentioned controllers. The humidistat is one....what is the other one ?
 
  #11  
Old 12-02-17, 07:46 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fresh air damper

Hi Pete,

I have a fresh air ventilation damper that periodcally calls for fan and opens a damper for fresh air from ouside. If look at my first post, it is the last picture which has Gt and Gf labeled terminals.

http://www.fieldcontrols.com/fresh-air-dampers?page_id=90

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: