Honeywell HE150, furnace and ecobee3 wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-18, 07:10 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell HE150, furnace and ecobee3 wiring

I had an HVAC technician install a Honeywell HE150 humidifier to my KeepRite furnace and hooked it up to be controlled by the humidistat that came with it instead of my ecobee3. I would like to disconnect the humidistat and connect the humidifier to be controlled by my ecobee3.

The wiring is currently as follows:
Furnace C to both C and Power in 24vac (left) on humidifier
Furnace R to humidifier Power in 24 vac (right)
Furnace HUM 24vac to humidifier Gt or W
(There are also 4 wires running from the humidifier hum control and power out terminals to the humidistat).

In order to connect to ecobee3 and have the humidifier run in heat mode I think I need to do the following:
Keep the furnace C and R terminals connected as is to humidifier C and Power in (both left and right).
Disconnect furnace HUM 24vac from humidifier Gf or W.
Connect humidifier Gf or W to ecobee3 ACC+.
Disconnect all 4 wires from humidifier to humidistat.

Is this correct or is there something else I should do?

Note: my ecobee is currently connected to furnace with 4 wires with the PEK and I would run a new wire to the thermostat to give me that 5th wire for ACC+.
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-07-18, 06:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

This is the diagram I use for that humidifier. It gets its power from the furnace board. You need a single wire to ACC+.

If you are running a new wire to the thermostat..... get rid of the PKE and install a larger conductor cable.

Name:  HE 150_ecobee.JPG
Views: 636
Size:  30.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-18, 06:38 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Will this configuration allow me to set desired humidity level on the ecobee and have it call for humidity when below the set level? Also, will it kick in on heat call or fan?

On a side note, I also got advice from another forum to run wires from the HUM control terminals to ACC+ and ACC- on ecobee and leave the Gt or W and C wired as per current setup. Any thoughts on this? I also saw something similar on one of the other threads you replied to on this site not too long ago, tho I think it may have been a HE250.
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-18, 07:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You can run two wires from the HUM to the ACC+ and ACC- but then you will need a separate transformer to run the humidistat.

With the wiring I've shown..... the humidifier is strictly controlled from the Ecobee. If you want the ecobee to turn on the blower and the humidifier...... program it that way.

I set up all my humidifiers to only run with heat. In my opinion.... there is not enough evaporation with cool air to make it worthwhile to humidify without the heat active.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-18, 07:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I donít understand the first part about a separate transformer for the humidistat. I thought I was disconnecting the humidistat all together in both configurations?
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-18, 08:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,125
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You mentioned advice from another forum. That what I was referring to.

My original diagram is the way I connect them.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: