Honeywell humidifier and NEST

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-18, 07:03 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell humidifier and NEST

Hello, i am new to this forum.
I need some help installing a NEST 3rd gen. thermostat, specifically with my humidifier.
So firstly, Nest says my wires are compatible even without a C wire. After doing some reading here, it seems like a C wire is preferred. Nest customer support also agreed.
So I have wired in a C wire as there was an extra wire already in place.


My real question is how do I incorporate my humidistat which is adjacent to my thermostat so i only have the Nest thermostat on the wall?

Okay, some info about the hardware. The furnace is a Nordyne 624686A - 2 stage variable speed model - induced draft blower.
Humidifier is a Honeywell HE225A1014 - Bypass flow through.



The Humidistat has 2 wires. So Nest says I must have only one wire. So I purchased a White Rodgers 90-290Q relay as suggested by Nest.

So I shouldn't have any trouble just hooking up some wires to replace the thermostat part of this scenario, but I am confused about the humidifier part.

Currently, I have a HUM and HUM neutral wires coming off the Nordyne circuit board at 120v and immediately going to a transformer to get 12VAC. From there one wire goes to the solinoid and one to the humidistat, and then the other humidistat wire goes back to the solinoid.

So where do I connect the relay? Is it connected before the 24v transformer or after? or do I completely remove the 24v transformer? Does the relay also work as a 120v to 12VAC transformer? I'm worried about frying something if I don't have the transformer.
I am also not sure what wires correspond to the 1, 2, 3, and 4 male connectors of the relay. Which wires get connected to each number.

Thanks

Attachment 92861Name:  IMG_1140.jpg
Views: 1363
Size:  98.3 KBName:  IMG_1145.jpg
Views: 1349
Size:  82.9 KBName:  IMG_1121.jpg
Views: 1320
Size:  91.0 KB
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by PJmax; 04-26-18 at 07:41 PM. Reason: reoriented pic
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-18, 07:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,127
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I only see 4 available wires on the old stat.
What did you use for common on the nest ?

You said you have a humidistat next to the nest. Can you get those wires to the nest ?
You need a wire to go to the * terminal on the nest.
You don't really need a relay.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-18, 09:03 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the welcome.

Yes 4 wires on old stat, but there was one tucked behind. That has been brought forward and wired up to the C for the next from the C on the furnace board.

Yes humidistat is right below nest. No problem getting wires to same spot.
I can get a wire to *, but there are 2 wires going to humidistat. So I got that relay because I read it will give me the single wire and be safest for this application.

How do I manage the connections with or without the relay? What do I do with that 24VAC transformer?
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-18, 05:55 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just adding an extra picture I have. I have the HUM and HUM neutral wires coming into this transformer. From here they go to the solinoid and humidistat.

Name:  IMG_1149.jpg
Views: 1025
Size:  87.0 KBName:  IMG_1148.jpg
Views: 1034
Size:  89.5 KB


What do I do to install the humidifier to the nest with what I have?
 
  #5  
Old 04-27-18, 10:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,127
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You no longer need a separate transformer.

You have two black wires coming out of the humidifier.
One goes to the C terminal on the furnace board.
The other wire goes to the * on the nest using one of the old h'stat wires.

That's it. Nothing else in line. The nest will fully control the humidifier.
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-18, 11:54 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, so no transformer.

Im a bit confused about which wires, so I have some more pictures,and a schematic that maybe you could mark up for me to show me what I need to connect.
And there is not risk to my circuit board without transformer. Which mean I will no longer connect anything to the 120V HUM connections on the board?

Sorry everything is upside down. I don't know why that is happening.
Name:  IMG_1153.jpg
Views: 1013
Size:  87.3 KB
Do I no longer need to use either wire connected to the HUM connectors? So is this what is currently controlling my Humidifier, but since I will be using the NEST, I can control it from NEST instead? So basically it just needs to be powered from a common and travel thru the solinoid?
Name:  IMG_1156.jpg
Views: 1017
Size:  89.5 KBName:  IMG_1157.jpg
Views: 1012
Size:  94.1 KB
Name:  IMG_1159_LI.jpg
Views: 1001
Size:  87.8 KB
Yellow circle is from solinoid, green arrow going to furnace circuit board, and blue arrow back to humidistat
Name:  IMG_1161.jpg
Views: 1022
Size:  88.5 KB

Thanks again, I really appreciate the help.

Nest was insisting that I need a relay, but they wouldn't tell me anything further than that.
 
  #7  
Old 04-27-18, 12:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,127
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Your furnace board can handle the humidifier load.
You can leave the transformer there... just unplug the HUM line wire.

Name:  IMG_1161.jpg
Views: 1036
Size:  30.6 KB
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-18, 05:45 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Possible problem with fan.

Thanks PJmax. A very easy straightforward solution.
Iíve installed nest.

Heat with fan work perfectly.
Humidifier works perfectly.

Since it below 16 degrees Celsius outside it will not let me test cooling.

I tried running just just the fan alone and it doesnít seem to turn on when Nest says it should be running.

What have i done wrong?
 
  #9  
Old 05-01-18, 05:11 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey PJmax,

Nevermind. It all seems to be working. Maybe I didn't leave it long enough. but now that its warmed up outside I see that everything is working as it should.

Thanks very much for all your help. Greatly Appreciated!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: