HE360 Honeywell Humidifier to Trane Furnace XV90 Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-18, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HE360 Honeywell Humidifier to Trane Furnace XV90 Wiring

Looking for best way to hook an Humidifier to Trane Furnace. [Wiring]

Also looking to upgrade the thermostat [if a better setup?]
Model # EB-STATE4C-01 Eccobee 4 Wifi
[Humidity can be control vs installing humidistat controller on furnace, which I have not yet done]

Existing Hardware
Humidifier-HE360 Honeywell [NEW but not installed wiring]

Furnace- TUY100R9V4W5 Trane XV90

Thermostat- RTH8500D1013 Honeywell

Attached pictures

Thank you for any suggestions.
 
Attached Images    

Last edited by jmjstar; 05-01-18 at 09:35 AM. Reason: adding pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-18, 11:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You currently have 5 wires connecting the stat to the furnace.
Red - R
White - W1
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Blue - W2

If you switch to the Ecobee.... it will need a C connection and an ACC+ connection.
That means two more wires.

In the middle picture... it looks like something is already attached to the HUM terminal.
This may be a 24vac transformer for the humidifier.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-18, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the welcome!

No wires have been hooked up to furnace from humidifier [wires just hanging in picture I added]

Followed Hum terminal wire [funny, not hooked up to anything, so pull wired, terminal is now free updated picture]

So how do I hook up the humidifier up to the furnace board and to the Ecobee 4 [will go purchase] ??

[Also just added 4 more wires through wall to furnace for C and ACC+ and any other wires that might be needed]

Thanks
 
Attached Images   
  #4  
Old 05-01-18, 05:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Thanks for the last pictures. That is the new style HE-360. It plugs into an always live receptacle and when the two yellow wires are shorted..... the unit operates. That humidifier was designed as a stand alone unit and not be connected to the furnace. It should have come with a humidistat and a sail switch which are not needed.

That installation will require a 24vac single pole relay to interface with your new stat. The wiring is as shown below.

Name:  HE_360_Ecobee_spec.JPG
Views: 926
Size:  29.6 KB
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-18, 03:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update

Got the relay White Rodgers 24-Volt SPDT RBM Relay-90-370
and Ecobee4.

Now want to make sure hooking up correctly

Hooked up existing 5 wire plus the 2 in the diagram but no power to thermostat. [7 total wires to thermostat]

Looks like I need a 6th wire to thermostat correct? Don't know which one to use from board of furnace to power thermostat?

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-18, 08:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
You currently have 5 wires connecting the stat to the furnace.
Red - R
White - W1
Yellow - Y
Green - G
Blue - W2

If you switch to the Ecobee.... it will need a C connection and an ACC+ connection.
That means two more wires.
Ok....so you added two additional wires. Did you make one of them a C wire to the furnace?

Terminals 1 and 3 connect to the Ecobee ACC+ and common on the furnace board.
Terminals 2 and 4 connect to the humidifier.

On that board...... the common is the B/C terminal.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-11-18 at 09:12 AM.
  #7  
Old 05-11-18, 11:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK, hook up is now

Furnace board Thermostat Relay White Rogers 24v
R RC
W1 W1
W2 W2
Y Y
G G
B/C C
ACC+ 1 terminal
2 relay to humidifier
B/C 3 terminal
4 relay to humidifier

Ecobee4 powered and works [HEAT and A/C]

Humidity says 53% on Ecobee4 screen the last 12hrs
So don't know if humidifier is working, as settings go to only 50%

The 53% Humidity does not make sense because we live a very dry climate and have had the heat on for the last 12 hours and drying out the house more.
Outside temp was +3C or 37F overnight
Ecobee4 set to +20C or 68F

Is the wiring correct ?
 
  #8  
Old 05-11-18, 02:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
It sounds like the wiring is correct. If the stat is showing above the highest humidity set point then the humidifier won't run.

If you want to double check your humidifier wiring..... pull the wire out of the ACC+ location at the stat and touch it to the R terminal. That should activate the relay and start the humidifier.
 
  #9  
Old 05-11-18, 02:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks PJmax
Just double checked everything again and did the humidifier check.
All Good!!!
 
  #10  
Old 01-04-19, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No need for a relay

I have the same thermostat and humidifier. The ecobee has acc+ and acc- terminals which creates a short across these terminals when you program the thermostat for a 2-wire evaporator humidifier. The HE360 is externally powered and only needs a short across the yellow wires to operate. Even better, the ecobee will not short the terminals unless there is a call for heat so no need to use the hum terminal of the furnace to power it. Just simply connect it to any outlet. I see you got it working but might help someone else. The relay is only necessary for the nest thermostat.
 
  #11  
Old 01-04-19, 07:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,729
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Thanks for the additional information.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: