Aprilaire 60 Humidifier Controller - no power to solenoid

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-18, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Aprilaire 60 Humidifier Controller - no power to solenoid

Hi all,
I just purchased a blower activation aprilaire 60 humidifier controller. I double checked and am fairly confident I have this wired correctly. The humidifier controller will call for humidity with "Humidifier On" light illuminated, but the humidifier is not turning on. With the light on I have measured 0 voltage on both H terminals on the humidistat. Any ideas? Could this be a defective humidistat?
Thanks,
Josh
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-18, 06:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,787
Welcome to the forums.

Sounds like a wiring problem....
There won't be any voltage measured on the H terminals.
Those terminals are on a relay. When actively calling for humidity.... H is shorted to H.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-18, 08:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks PJmax for the reply. Ok I see. So I should be able to measure voltage at the solenoid though correct? I replaced another Aprilaire humidistat that had a bad display. That one could still enter reset/test mode and I could hear the solenoid cycle so I am hoping the solenoid still is functional. But now I canít get any response from the solenoid. Iíll climb back down into the crawl space with the black widows to take another stab at it but might end up calling in the pros.
thanks again,
josh
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-18, 08:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,787
You need a source of 24vAC to open the solenoid. You either use a separate transformer or a connection to the furnace board. The HH terminals are just a switch that interrupts that 24v source to the solenoid.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-18, 06:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
SOLVED

Thanks PJmax. You nailed it. My old setup was a 400 & 58 combo. I got a new 60 humidistat and re-did the wiring per that manual. There ended up not even being a transformer in the old setup somehow. So I bought one today at Ace, wired it up next to the solenoid, and now everything works great.
Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 12-05-18, 07:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,787
Good job. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes