Aprilaire 600 Not Working

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-18, 04:00 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 600 Not Working

I have an Aprilaire 600 that worked perfectly prior to me poking and prodding around the furnace baord measuring voltages. I ended up blowing the fuse on the furnace board. I replaced the fuse and all operations returned back to normal with the exception of the humidifier (no water flowing). I have since upgraded my thermostat to an Ecobee 3.

Following instructions in another thread I shorted the wires at the humidistat and still no water. Could whatever caused the furnace fuse to blow, also damaged the solenoid valve?

I'm not sure what to try next.

Part 2:
Assuming I get the humidifier working, how should I connect it to the ecobee?
Right now the Common (brown wire) and R, W, G, and Y wires on the furnace board are connected to the same spots on the ecobee.

I've attached pictures of the furnace board, terminals that the humidistat/solenoid wires connect to, and my lousy attempt at shorting the humidistat wires.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-18, 04:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

In every thread involving an Ecobee and humidifier I give the same answer.
I'm surprised you didn't see it if you were reading other threads.

One solenoid wire goes to directly to the C terminal on the furnace board.
The other solenoid wire goes to the ACC+ terminal on the Ecobee.
That's it...... nothing more. Nothing in line. Two basic connections.

Shorting any 24v connection to ground will cause the fuse to blow.
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-18, 04:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess I need it spelt out for me.

I have extra orange, blue, and black wires at the furnace board (picture 1) and at the thermostat that aren't being used.

Say I use the orange wire, I connect that to one of the solenoid wires (we'll say red) and connect the other solenoid wire (white) to the C terminal. Then the wires from the transformer and to the humidistat are connected to nothing. Is that right?
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-18, 05:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I can't see all your humidifier wiring..... but you are correct. The transformer and the humidistat aren't connected. This is AC so there is no polarity. Orange for the ACC+ line will work.
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-18, 05:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok I unplugged the transformer since it's not needed. Transformer and humidistat are connected to nothing. Orange wire is connected on one end to ACC+ on ecobee and on other end to Red wire from Solenoid. White wire from solenoid is connected to Common on furnace board. Ecobee has humidifier turned on to a setting of 50% with current humidity at 36%. Still no water running...
 
  #6  
Old 12-12-18, 06:15 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's what I have for an electrical schematic....
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 12-12-18, 06:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Did you program the Ecobee for ACC+ for humidification ?

To confirm your wiring....... take the ACC+ (orange) wire out of the ACC+ terminal and touch it to R.
The humidifier should start.
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-18, 06:58 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I programmed the ecobee for acc+ (1 wire). However, after a few minutes, when I check the electronic wiring on the ecobee it has acc+ and acc- highlighted. Not sure why it switches.

Touching orange to R did not result in any water running. So it must be the solenoid valve then?
 
  #9  
Old 12-12-18, 07:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
It would appear to be a defective solenoid although I'd check with a voltmeter right at the solenoid to be sure there is 24vAC there then calling for humidity or touching the orange wire to R.
 
  #10  
Old 12-15-18, 05:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Solenoid was fine. Traced the issue back to the saddle valve. I appreciate the help on the wiring. That all worked fine.
 
  #11  
Old 12-15-18, 07:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Good job. That was the reason I had you check for 24v at the solenoid.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: