Humidifer runs all the time


  #1  
Old 01-25-19, 07:55 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifer runs all the time

I have a Trane XC95M furnace with a GeneralAire 1042L humidifier attached to it. When my furnace was replaced the installer connected the power for the humidifier to terminals inside the furnace. The problem is that there is always power to the humidifier when the humidistat calls for more humidity. this wastes water when the furnace is not running. The humidifier should only come on when the furnace blower is working. The solenoid has just been replaced and works fine. I have moved the thermostat for the furnace from ON to AUTO to see if that would correct the problem, but it did not fix it. Power for the humidifier seems to go, one wire from furnace through the humidistat then on to the humidifier, and the other wire direct from furnace to humidifier. It seems to me the terminal in the furnace where the power is taken from is hot all the time, but power should be taken from a terminal which is only hot when the blower runs. Is it possible to find a terminal that supplies power only when the blower runs in my furnace, and if so, can I move the lead myself or do I have to call my service company to move it for me?
 
  #2  
Old 01-25-19, 08:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,728
Received 1,618 Votes on 1,490 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That's not too good. Definitely not installed correctly. You can post a picture of the control board so I can see the wiring or the part number off the control board or both. The control board is down in the blower section. You should be able to make the wiring change.

How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-19, 08:33 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete,
I will endeavour to get a picture for you. This may take a day or so, please bear with me.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-19, 08:35 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,191
Received 126 Votes on 120 Posts
Page 6 has wiring schematics for your humidifier—>

https://www.generalfilters.com/cm/dp...ers_Manual.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-19, 01:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Control Board Pictures

Hi Pete,

Apologies for the delay in sending pictures as requested.
Looking at the lower section of the furnace, it is difficult for me to
tell whether there is one circuit board in there or two, since the
display console sits right in front of the whole contraption.
However, I suspect it's one. I hope so.

The only place I could find anything that looked like a board number was in
the top right corner of the (board, or upper board if it's two pieces).
I took a picture of it and it's the first picture attached here (1b.jpg).

The second picture shows the wiring strip along the bottom of the board
with such wires attached as the installer put there when it went in (2b.jpg)

The third picture shows my thumb and finger holding the specific two wires,
black and white, which lead off the board and out to the humidifier (3b.jpg)

I hope the pictures offer enough information for you to be able to decipher
what's what in there and possibly offer a better alternative for the wires to
the humidifier for me.

Many thanks for your generous assistance.
Jim

Name:  t1.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  43.1 KB

Name:  t3.jpg
Views: 150
Size:  60.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-29-19 at 03:26 PM. Reason: cropped/resized pictures
  #6  
Old 01-29-19, 03:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,728
Received 1,618 Votes on 1,490 Posts
Move the black wire of the pair you are holding from R to the W1/W2 connection.

I was trying to see if there is a HUM connection on that board. There could be but I haven't found it yet.
 
  #7  
Old 01-29-19, 06:41 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete, I will do that and let you know how it works.

I didn't see a HUM connection either, neither on the board itself nor in the installation manual for my furnace.
(I had seen that terminal mentioned in a previous request for the same problem in this forum)
But the manual also didn't offer where to connect a humidistat (for use in heating mode) or
what the functions of the existing terminals were.

I'll be back when I have news.
Thanks !

Jim
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-19, 02:43 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Pete,

I moved the black lead from R to W1, but it did not seem to behave as desired.
So then I moved the lead from W1 to W2 (which do not appear to be bridged in my furnace,
and now it seems to be working as expected. When the furnace calls for heat,
and the humidistat calls for humidity, the solenoid operates and
sends water through the humidifier. When the furnace stops
calling for heat, the solenoid closes and the water stops flowing.
This is the behaviour I was hoping to achieve.
I have been watching the humidity level in the house for
several days since making this change, and although it's
happening slowly, I believe the humidity in the house is
slowly coming up towards the point I have asked for on the humidistat.

Many thanks for your sage advice !

Jim
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: