How to connect a GeneralAire model 1042 to a Nest Learning thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-20, 02:15 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to connect a GeneralAire model 1042 to a Nest Learning thermostat

Hi. Iím in quarantine for 14 days returning from Florida. I installed my Nest thermostat before Christmas without connecting my whole-home humidifier and air exchanger to it. Everything else work Fine. However, humidity in the house is now 20% and I need to connect my humidifier to my Nest but cannot have a technician come in the house for weeks and perhaps months. I have two wires (white and black) at the thermostat and same at the furnace of course which I identified in the attached pictures.

How do I connect it?
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-20, 03:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,251
Received 600 Votes on 565 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Assuming your humidifier has the two wires from the solenoid on the outside of the unit.....
One wire connects to C on the furnace connection board.
The other wire connects to the * terminal at the nest.

Configure the nest for humidifier operation.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-20, 05:00 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Just a few questions for an illiterate HVAC person...

How can I tell if the two wires from the solenoid are outside of the unit?

As you can see on the pictures, I have black and white wires terminating at the furnace and Nest thermostat.. Do I understand I only use one of them connected to the C connection at the HUM and the other end of the same wire connected at the * connection at the Nest thermostat? Does it matter if it is the white or black wire? What do I do with the other wire if no longer used?
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-20, 05:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,251
Received 600 Votes on 565 Posts
Just look at the humidifier. I believe with that series the solenoid is visible. It should have two wires on it.

In your two conductor cable you can use black or white. Just leave the other wire unconnected.
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-20, 09:49 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting Air Exchanger to NEST

Done, tested and now works fine. Thank you for your advice.

On another related subject. How can I connect my Greentek Air Exchanger to the Nest Learning 3rd generation. See attached pictures.
 
Attached Images    
  #6  
Old 03-30-20, 10:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,251
Received 600 Votes on 565 Posts
Your nest can only run one external device via the * connection.
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-20, 10:28 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I will re-install the Air Exchanger thermostat beside the Nest or in the furnace room.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: