Aprilaire 400 solenoid wiring question

Old 11-30-22, 08:39 PM
M
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 400 solenoid wiring question

Hello all,

I just replaced an 18 year old Honeywell HE265 humidifier. Unfortunately, I cut all of the wires away and installed all of the new hardware without taking a photo of my previous wiring job, I am not an electrician.
The new Controller (60) seems very complicated and so, I thought that I might just re-use the old controller. The old controller was connected to the top or 24V side of the transformer with two wires. But I cannot remember if I connected the old solenoid to the hot side of the transformer...which makes sense. The hot side is hot or open when the heat turns on.

Can I simply wire the Aprilaire solenoid to the hot side of the transformer, assuming 110 v is a suitable power type? ...one of the two yellow wires coming out of the solenoid is connected to a white wire that runs to two probes at the bottom of the humidifier unit. All of this wiring is in an electric box.

The furnace is very old and all of the solenoids that are controlled by our thermostat were wired by an electrician when we installed central air, so I know nothing about that part of the furnace. There is no R or C or anything on that side of the furnace...custom job I guess.

Apologies for the litany! I am happy to send photos...

Michael

Old 12-01-22, 08:42 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,922 Upvotes on 3,518 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Pictures of your wiring... at the furnace too... are very helpful.
How to insert pictures.

meboice voted this post useful.
Old 12-01-22, 09:07 AM
M
Aprilaire 400 solenoid wiring questions