Yellow Jackets Indoors

Old 04-21-06, 12:41 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Yellow Jackets Indoors

Hello, I need some help. The apartment building I live in has a big yellow jacket problem. The super has allegedly removed most of the nests; however, every couple of days I find one in my apartment. I have taped up every place i could find that looks like an access point, and set up a Raid deep fogger 3 days ago. Today was the first time I had seen one in 5 days, it was crawling on the floor.

I am not very experienced in this area and would like to know if it is possible that the one I found this morning was a) dying since it was crawling on the floor and not flying and b) if it is feasible that it is a remnant from the fogging or if I should assume they're still getting in.

Any help anyone could give would be immensely appreciated. Thank you.

Old 04-21-06, 01:33 PM
T
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
It is possible that they did not get all the nests or that some are still about looking for the nest if knocked down. If you have only seen one unhealthy one in five days, it is possible that the fogging finally got to him or that he finally encountered residual insecticide from fogger. For an occasional indoor yellow jacket a quick knock down with the fly swat is most effective.

Old 04-21-06, 01:50 PM
D
And call your super and let him know what's going on (maybe he'll do something) especially since you mentioned he removed "most" of the nests...which means he didn't get all of them...?

Like twelvepole said...the 1 or 2 flying around, they could be looking for their nest that was knocked down (I've pondered the same question when I knocked down the ones I had and felt bad for that 1 that seemed lost and wondered what happened to his nest).

Old 04-21-06, 03:41 PM
J