Gnats living inside condo for first time - What can I do?

Old 06-06-09, 03:33 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gnats living inside condo for first time - What can I do?

I have seen previous posts with similar stories to my own. I am completely new to having insects indoors where I am living and need to get some help/advice.

I am living in my parents condo in Florida while going to school. The condo is very nice and always well maintained. However, over the past couple weeks I have been noticing small flying insects which I am almost positive are gnats. I have looked at various pictures to distinguish the type of insect they are. I am very confused as to why they have gotten inside the condo and need to figure out how to get rid of them - for good. I do not have any living plants in the condo and only have had a small flower pot with some roses on the table that my mother put out while she was visiting about 3 months ago and was only there for a few days. I know this isn't the source. They primarily appear in the bathroom and kitchen area - and 1, maybe 2, are sometimes in the kitchen sink when I go to use the faucet.

What really confused me today and made me post online, was I went into my parents main bedroom bathroom earlier which I have not been in for about a month and the door has been closed. There were about 5-10 of these "gnats" inside the bath and a few scattered in other areas, but were no longer alive. I am not sure how they could have gotten into that bathroom? Can these bugs migrate through the ventilation systems of a home? I do not see any other way for them to have gotten into that bathroom since its far away from where I am currently seeing these bugs in my other bathroom and kitchen area and the door has been closed.