Deer tick threat from wild deer?

Old 03-10-11, 08:01 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 25 Upvotes on 22 Posts
Deer tick threat from wild deer?

My MIL has a herd of deer sleeping in her back yard- 6 or 8 at a time will bed down for the night. This has been going on for quite a while. What is the threat from deer ticks? I know they prefer to stay on their host but they have to propogate somehow. Is this a source for concern, for her or the grandkids running around in her yard?

Thanks

Old 03-10-11, 08:27 AM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I'm not an expert on the subject, but if your area of the country has deer ticks, the deer are just one source. Squirrels, birds, rabbits, mice, virtually every critter can carry these things. One of my puppies made a 15 second pass through the edge of the woods as I called her back into the house. As she went in, I could see a tick on her back. How they do it, I don't know.

I plan to spray the perimeter with something puppy safe and also bag all of my lawn clippings and dispose of them at the collection center.

From my experience with deer, getting rid of them my be more difficult than getting rid of the ticks .

Bud

Old 03-10-11, 09:33 AM
Super Moderator
Received 388 Upvotes on 316 Posts
They don't jump from the deer or other animals onto people. They sit on bushes and low plants and hop on to whomever happens to pass by at the time, which is usually an animal. Most of the ticks you see are the larger kind that don't spread the Lime disease.
I've got all sorts of critters in my back and I also walk thru the woods daily, and I don't get more than one tick on me a year, so I wouldn't worry too much.

Old 03-10-11, 01:03 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Shadeladie is right. Why would they leave a host full of blood? After propogation, they attach themselves to branches and slough off on whatever passes by.

Old 03-11-11, 06:49 AM
C
Received 25 Upvotes on 22 Posts
THanks for your replies