Black ants

Old 02-21-12, 02:19 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Black ants

I'm in SE Michigan. This winter, I've been finding a few stray black ants around the house. Some days, I come across 2 or 3(but never more than 1 at a time), other times I'll go several days without encountering any. Most often, they are in the kitchen or the bathroom, which are only 15 feet or so apart, but a couple times I've found them in other parts of the house.

They are on the small side as compared to the black ants I see outside in the summer, but larger than the type of red ants we have around here, and my initial impression was that what I was finding was just some odd survivors somehow activated by the unusually warm winter we've had. But now I'm concerned that there may be a nest somewhere in the house, since this has continued for several months

I don't think these are carpenter ants, but I'm no expert. A friend once had a carpenter ant infestation and I thought they were a larger ant. I've put ant traps in the areas where they most commonly appear and caught nothing. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated!

Old 02-21-12, 03:22 PM
P
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 109 Upvotes on 102 Posts
It could very well be carpenter ants. Within a carpenter ant colony there are various sizes of ants, commonly called major and minor workers. Carpenter ants can go dormant if exposed to the cold or they can stay mildly active if they are in a wall void, attic, etc.

The fact that you are seeing them now, when they are inactive outdoors, leads me to believe that you have an ant nest inside your house. Unfortunately, carpenter ants are not easily attracted to or controlled by baits.

Get them identified. Catch some if you can and take them to a county extension agent or similar. It will be helpful to know if they are carpenter ants.