Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Insect, Pests and Animal Control. Home Pets and Farm Animals > Indoor and Outdoor Insect and Pest Control
Reload this Page >

Found some kind of animal dropping in attic. Should I call the pro or try myself

Found some kind of animal dropping in attic. Should I call the pro or try myself

Old 04-19-17, 06:40 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I recently noticed several dropping on the wooden platform where my a/c pan and unit is residing. They are dark like long (1/8 of a inch) droppings. I didn't notice them anywhere else in the attic mainly in that elevated area.

Not sure how to identify what type of animal these dropping are from. I can post pictures. Should I start with placing moth balls and mice traps around or just call a professional pest control?

Old 04-19-17, 06:53 AM
V
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Your description points to Bats; but a picture would help.

As a Real Estate Broker, I'd often examine attics, and it was interesting to shine a flashlight up into the rafters and see a few hundred up-side-down eyealls starring back at me.

Bats are good . . . . but not inside !

Old 04-19-17, 07:22 AM
S
How can you tell it's bats? I read bat droppings usually are on walls.

I'll post pictures tonight. My house is fairly new and the attic is clean but every time I go up there I'm afraid of what I'll find.

Old 04-19-17, 08:52 AM
V
Originally Posted by surfer949
". . . How can you tell it's bats? . . ."
I don't know; it's the process of elimination.

Their guano is usually concentrated below where they sleep. Mouse dung is scattered all over the place because they have no control over their bowels.

Rats produce a bigger stool, and it's not deposited all over because they have the opportunity to exercise discretion over where they leave it.