What are these bugs and how do I get rid of them?

Old 08-06-20, 06:31 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What are these bugs and how do I get rid of them?

Hello,

I'm glad I found this forum and I'm hoping one of you experts can assist. I've been doing DIY pest control in my home for about 18 months and it's been going very well. However, I've started finding these very small bugs (see attachments) in one of our bathrooms. At most, they're about 1/4" in length. This is the only room in the house where I find them and I've not seen any live ones. When I see them, I vacuum them up but within 3-4 days, I'll have 7 - 8 of them dead on the floor again. Obviously the pesticide I'm using is working, but I'd like to get rid of them altogether.

Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,
Dennis

Sponsored Links
Old 08-06-20, 06:35 AM
Group Moderator
Received 638 Votes on 590 Posts
Hard to tell from such blurry photos but they look like cockroaches to me.

Old 08-06-20, 06:49 AM
R
Sorry for the blur. I got out my pro camera and macro lens so hopefully, this one is clearer. I have tremors so it's hard to get anything steady.

Old 08-06-20, 06:50 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 586 Votes on 540 Posts
My first guess was also some kind of cockroach. Possibly they are in the bathroom because of the moisture. I've had good luck with Advion Roach Bait Gel.

Old 08-06-20, 06:56 AM
R
Now that I've zoomed in on it, I think you're both correct. They look like baby cockroaches. I've been using
PT Cy-Kick throughout the interior except for kitchen cabinets and countertops. In those places, I use Vendetta Plus Cockroach Gel Bait.

Obviously, the PT Cy-Kick has killed them but would I put the cockroach bait in that bathroom and hope they carry it back to wherever and kill the source? Is that the idea?

Old 08-07-20, 06:48 AM
P
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts