Ceiling Insulation

Old 02-15-04, 11:35 PM
Minze
Visiting Guest
Ceiling Insulation

I have a condo unit which is the 2nd floor of a 3 story building. I recently had flood damage which took down the ceiling and the insulation that was in there. It appears that the insulation had been blown in and looks like shredded pieces of cotton. When the ceiling came down I kept finding round foam plugs which I assume were to close the holes made by blowing in the insualtion. I have never done insulation work before and have some questions.

First, I'll give a brief description of how the unit is set up. The front wall of the living room has a sliding glass door that goes out onto a small deck (deck extends approx 3 1/2 to 4 feet out). This is common to all the units in the building, except for the groud floor which has a small garden yard. The way they are built, my ceiling rafters extend the 3 1/2 to 4 feet out and that provides the flooring for the deck above me, and is finished to be the ceiling of my deck. Where the rafters end, there is a stone exterior to the building. The floors of the units are some type of poured cement on top of the wood that my rafters attach to.