Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

how best to proceed?


kskwsde's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
IA

05-05-04, 10:12 AM   #1  
how best to proceed?

i have made some previous posts to this forum regarding polyisocyanurate rigid insulation, and have determined that this is what i'm going to use in my basement. The basement currently has 2x2 wall frames attached to the concrete on the inside of the exterior perimeter walls. I can get the polyiso insulation for next to nothing and thought I would use as much as I could to get the highest R-Value possible. This is what I was considering for application:

1.Cut to fit and put insulation in spaces between 2x2 wall studs,
2.Place additional layer of rigid insulation over the top of the insulation/studs,
3.Vapor barrier,
4.Drywall

so the second layer of rigid insulation would be simply glued to the first layer and would not be between any wall studs. This should give me an R-Value of approximately 20 on the exterior walls. I will then use drywall screws that are long enough to go through the second insulation layer and catch the 2x2s.

Is there anything wrong with this proposed method?

Thanks for the help,
kevin

 
Sponsored Links
markiz37's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 748
PA

05-05-04, 11:38 AM   #2  
Do you need to run any electric, tv or phone cables? If not, I say via con dios

 
kskwsde's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
IA

05-05-04, 01:11 PM   #3  
wiring is already run in most places, All the wiring is running right along the studs everywhere - I was just going to cut the first layer of insulation that goes between the studs so that it wouldn't interfere with the wiring

if this idea still sounds ok, I'm going to run w/ it - let me know otherwise

thanks for the help,
kevin

 
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,389
MO

05-06-04, 10:09 AM   #4  
Did you check code there. Lots of places by code you cant attach the wood strips or studs to the cement walls.


ED

 
kskwsde's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 101
IA

05-06-04, 01:31 PM   #5  
yeah i'm alright with studs on the concrete wall, i was just wondering if this sounded like it would work the way I plan on applying the insulation and drywall

thanks,
kevin

 
Search this Thread