renovated attic insulation

Old 09-17-04, 12:49 PM
Question renovated attic insulation

Hi all, I'm a newbie to renovation and insulation, but am a 100% do-it-yourselfer ...

Background:

Attic is now 3 bdrm, 1 bath.
1/2 fully lifted to 4 slope, front have w/ 3 dormers.
Room between framed ceilings and roof is only from 1" at soffit to 4-ft at top ridge. Same with Dormers.

Questions:

Looking at Zip-Code program, my area is recommended for R49 in attic.
Where do I get R49? Most I've seen is R38 (do i add another layer of R11 to it ?). If so, how? Once I staple up the R38, I really don't have access to lay a bed down from above. (ceiling framed with 2 * 6's).

Also, I imagine I only have to insulate exterior walls (R15 in 2*4 )?

Paper side faces interior in all cases, true ? (i've seen pictures on the web of none-faced on exterior walls?) ... need some kind of strips to keep insulation away from roof at soffit sides of the house in order to maintain airflow, recommendations?

Don't know what proper airflow must be from soffitts to ridge on roof, so how much space is needed for airflow (total size of ceiling frame 30' * 50')? There will be a lot of space (4 ft) as the roof approaches the top (vented) ridge, there will be minimal space (1 inch) as the roof approaches the soffit.

Thanks much all !!!

PS> the electical crew on this site were GREAT !!! I was able to do some stuff that even some local contractors were applauding.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-04, 01:33 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Insulation

Originally Posted by pdagosta
Hi all, I'm a newbie to renovation and insulation, but am a 100% do-it-yourselfer ...

Background:

Attic is now 3 bdrm, 1 bath.
1/2 fully lifted to 4 slope, front have w/ 3 dormers.
Room between framed ceilings and roof is only from 1" at soffit to 4-ft at top ridge. Same with Dormers.

Questions:

Looking at Zip-Code program, my area is recommended for R49 in attic.