Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

new home interior basement insulating

12-04-08, 08:18 AM   #1  
new home interior basement insulating

Hello all, I am a newbie to the forum. I tried to answer my question by piecing many other posts together but still had questions.

I am building a new home with an exposed back foundation wall (10" concrete). It will have brick on the exterior. My questions are how to best insulate the interior of this wall, where to place vapor bariers, how thick, can I have them spray this wall with cellulose, etc. Any advise or references are appreciated.

thanks
cmw

Sponsored Links

OK

12-04-08, 07:52 PM   #2  
EERE Consumer's Guide: Basement Insulation, check out this web site for info about insullating basements.

life begins when the kids leave home and the dog dies

12-05-08, 05:56 AM   #3  
speedwrench,

Thanks, this is great information. However, it is not very specific for the diy guy regarding the specifics and how too. I'll keep searching, thanks again!

12-06-08, 11:11 AM   #4  
Insulation companies use a Flamespread insulation which is an R-13 roll 4 feet wide and it is fastened to the concrete fnd wall using a Hilti powder actuated gun.

You're going to have to call a contractor supply house, not HD or Lowes for this one. You can purchase or rent a Hilti gun at HD. Be sure to buy pins (nails) with washers.

OH

12-11-08, 07:23 PM   #5