insulating old 1911 brick/cement block home

Old 01-08-09, 09:45 AM

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone knows how I can insulate the walls of my home, it is an 1911 brick/ cement block home and the walls are recently replasterd. I know that there is insulation of shreaded newsars like materials, but I cannot /want not drill holls in the block from the outside to spary the insulation in or drill holls in the new plaster. I have tried removing the basemolding this either damagened the plaster or the base board broke. The only option I have is to go from the bottom and that being my basement. I would love to know if there is anything available that I can spray up though the basement that is strong enough to go up two stories...
Thanks

Pieter

Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-09, 10:50 AM
I'm not a pro, but I can think of a few questions and maybe they'd help get an answer.
---

Up two stories?
As in <I>through the basement and then up two above ground</I> or <I>two, including the basement</I>?

I gather that there's some kind of wooden frame (studs) to which the plaster is fastened; Are they 2"x4", 1"x2" or what and is it a standard frame (with likely a top-plate between floors), or are the "studs" fastened directly to the bricks and do you have reason to believe that they form uninterrupted channels?

And, I gather there's no attic and that's why shooting down isn't an option.
---

Just theorizing here, but maybe a pro or a well-armed DIYer could fashion something that could shoot the hard foam up a long wand, but if you could get through from one floor to the other, you'd think there'd be a lot of fishing/shooting in the dark and a lot of wishing/hoping for good coverage.

Old 01-08-09, 11:01 AM
I have been told that my home is a ballonn construction so it is open between the floors I am assuming that the palster boards ( where the paster is stuck to) are mounted to 2x4's