Insulating a small roof

Old 01-14-09, 04:23 PM
Insulating a small roof

Hey everyone,
I am hoping that I can get some advice here on how to insulate a small roof I have. I'm a carpenter so I know the basics. What I have is a 2 story house. On the front of it there is an addition that is just the one story with about a 4/12 shed roof on it. It is un-vented space and I really need to get it insulated. I have a few thoughts. One would be to get r-30 fiberglass between the rafters and then put 1/2" rigid foam board over that and tape the seams for an air barrier. Or maybe just plastic as the air barrier. Another idea is to use the fiberglass between the collar ties the put the vapor barrier below that. Either way is basically the same except one would insulate at the roof and the other would insulate at the ceiling. I am thinking the ceiling might be easier. Now what about that vapor barrier? Should I put it up? I plan on putting sheetrock in later on. I am trying to do this cheaply. I'd get one of those do it yourself 2 part foam kits but $400 is a little steep for me and I have the fiberglass already. Let me know if you need any more information. I am planning on doing this project this coming weekend.
Thanks in advance,
Jason

Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-09, 08:07 PM