blow in wall insulation

Old 01-27-09, 08:47 AM
blow in wall insulation

i have a home that was built in 1897 and is not insulated. i want to use the blow in insulation for my house and i want to do it myself. i have heard of many ways to do this.
1. from the interior and patch with foam and putty
2. from the exterior and take the top layer of siding off. not
my first choice.
3. from the exterior and cut holes in the siding. the question
here is, what do i use to patch the holes?

can anyone tell me the best way to do this? i am leaning to no. 1 but no. 3 could be another option if i can find out how to patch the holes. if there are any better ways i would love to hear it. thanks in advance. i am new here and so far the site is great.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-27-09, 09:51 AM
I have some experience with cellulose. I did my whole house w/ it, attic and exterior walls.

How I did the exterior walls was, take off a section of my wood siding, drill the holes ( 1 7/8" hole) and put the wood siding back up. Then the following weekend, I took the wood siding pieces back down, blew in the insulation, then took a dowel that was 1 3/4" round (cut to depth of wall/sheething)and put caulking on it to keep it in place. Put the wood siding back up and DONE!! It was pretty easy for me, thanks to the siding. I have old wood siding.

I wouldn't drill through your siding!! What kind do you have??

You can rent the machine at lowes or HD. I spent 9 dollars roughly, on a bag of insulation. I went through almost 30 which is 270 bucks. Renting the machine is free if you buy 10 or more bags. That was at lowes. Also you make sure you say you want to rent the hose reducer. If so check on the size of the reducer before you drill the hole. They made me buy one out of the shop vac section b/c they rented their only reducer out.