Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Insulation, Radiant and Vapor Barriers
Reload this Page >

Just installed tankless heater - insulation suggestion on expose concreate

Old 02-01-10, 08:02 AM

Hello everyone

I'm a newbie who just joined the forum. I'm seeking advise on dealing with an exposed concrete resulting from a recent tankless water heater installation.

My basement concete wall is insulated with fiberglass from the ceiling to just about 6" off the floor. About 3 weeks ago, I replaced my tank water heater with a tankless unit. The installer mounted the unit on the wall directly on the insulation. He had to cut the concrete wall for the stainless steel duct for the exhaust. The insulation had to be removed where the cutout is for the duct.

The problem I'm having now is we're in the midst of winter in Canada and the concrete area exposed without insulation is icing up due to condensation. The concrete literally freezes and ice up when the temperture dips down to -10 to -20 degrees in the evening. When it warms up during the day, the exposed concrete becomes wet as well as the surrounding fiberglass insulation. I'm concern that mold may form over time if I don't deal with it.

Also, when the installer cut the hole for the exhaust duct, I notice a hugh gap between the duct and the wall. Can I spray foam insulation into the gap?

Any suggestion on insulating the concrete around the duct? The installer advised me to leave it as it ...

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-10, 09:22 AM
Hi limron and welcome to the forum.
To seal around the duct to concrete hole, I would use a high temperature silicone. I know it's not hot, but for a small job, the better stuff will avoid any one questioning it later.