Attic insulation, flooring, plenum questions

Old 05-23-10, 02:53 PM
M
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Attic insulation, flooring, plenum questions

I'm an electrician and weldor. I know little about insulation except that it insulates.

What I'm thinking about doing is adding more insulation in my attic, maybe even converting attic into more suitable storage space.

Currently my attic is blown insulation. What I'm considering doing is adding R-13 batts to the upper part of attic. Does this help or hurt?

Additionally, I'm thinking about flooring the attic (around ducts, pipes, and wires) to make it easier to use it for storage when I feel like maneuvering around the trusses. Said flooring (plywood or OSB) would be attached to top of joists with the blown insulation still underneath it. Any issues with this idea?

Further, I'm thinking that if I do this, maybe I can close off the attic ventilation holes and vents, and maybe make it a plenum for the return air of the air conditioner and furnace system.

So, what do the experts think? Here are the questions in summary:

1. Are you helped or hurt by adding insulation to top of attic when it already has insulation at bottom?

2. Any effect to overall insulation if I floor the attic?

3. Am I helped or hurt if I turn my attic into a return air plenum?

Thanks!

Old 05-23-10, 05:11 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do not close those vents in the attic. They are very important. Using your an open attic as a return air plenum is going to suck a lot of dust into your HVAC system. You should avoid this idea.

I don't think your idea to add r-13 underneath the roof deck will help you very much. You should add more insulation to the floor area if you want to increase your R value up there. Are the floor joists filled to the top with blown insulation? If not, you could add more until it is. You can also put 2" Polyisocyanurate foam down and then your floor. That should add about and R12 to your ceiling.

Old 05-23-10, 05:26 PM
M