Radiant Floor - Insulation Question

Old 11-30-10, 08:40 AM
Question Radiant Floor - Insulation Question

I've got a radiant floor in my home. We utilized the method where you secure aluminum plates to the subfloor and tap in the tubing. Link to photo:

Unfortunately we decided to go with floor trusses 2' on center and the floor is rather springy in areas. We have an area we would like to install tile and I'm not comfortable with the amount of deflection.

What I propose doing is applying spray foam insulation, in between the trusses and right over the plates/tubing and subflooring just in this area. I'm thinking that the added strength would significantly reduce the deflection, however I am concerned with the affect on heat transfer. I would think that the heat would still transfer from the piping to the aluminum and floor - or I am I perhaps chocking things down too much? Would appreciate opinions.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-10, 11:12 AM
Just an opinion as I'm not a pro in this field, but the foam would not be sufficient for added strength. Again, opinion.

As for the radiant heat, you would be isolating any air movement right under the floor, so all heat transfer would have to be through the wood in contact with the plates. In my experience, those cavities are usually very warm all across the bottom of the floor, allowing some heat to conduct through the entire floor surface.

Radiant heat is a challenge from the start, getting the floor warm enough to conduct up through wood, which is somewhat of an insulator, then up through all of the floor material used above it. When it is all added up, you are trying to force all of your heat up through something like an R-3 or 4.

IMO, I would look for a way to provide support from below that would allow access when needed.

Bud

Old 11-30-10, 12:42 PM
Originally Posted by Bud9051 View Post
Just an opinion as I'm not a pro in this field, but the foam would not be sufficient for added strength. Again, opinion.