Open beam ceiling insulation

Old 12-14-10, 07:54 PM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Open beam ceiling insulation

I have a ceiling in a room that I want to insulate. It's an open beam ceiling. There's 28 1/2" of space in between each 5 1/4" rafter. Should I use rigid fiberglass insulation? What about extruded polystyrene thermal insulation board? Are there any options besides finishing it with 1/2" drywall? I live in Southern California. Should I put vapor barriers above and below the insulation or just below or just above? Would I use 1 mil plastic?

Old 12-15-10, 08:31 AM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I'm not a California pro, but here are a couple of tips. If you are in a cooling dominated climate, efforts to keep the heat out start on the outside. Now I know these comments may not be applicable, but they may be options somewhere in the future.

Shading is always good. Shingle companies offer products that reflect a portion of the heat before you have deal with it. Some roof options will use several inches of rigid foam board above the sheathing you currently. Even up north, log homes have been using 4" to 6" of rigid foam above the rafters for years.

If replacing the roof is not on the option list, then installing rigid in between the rafters as suggested is an option. Here you must decide if you want to vent from soffit to attic (peak) or seal it up tight and fill the entire cavity. Were you thinking about leaving the rafters exposed or covering over them with the 5 1/4" used for insulation?

Bud

Old 12-15-10, 11:55 AM
I
Re-roofing is not an option. I am looking to insulate from the inside (between the rafters). I need to know where to the vapor barrier (above or below the insulation or both) and how to create the vapor barrier (plastic sheets?).

I wish there was some sort of insulation that looks decent and doesn't drop fiberglass that wouldn't require drywall finishing, but I guess rigid insulation w/ drywall is gonna be my only option.