Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Insulation, Radiant and Vapor Barriers
Reload this Page >

Contractor blowing cellulose in walls, says don't need plugs...

Old 11-21-11, 08:43 AM

1948 house, wood siding with aluminum over the top of that. Interior is drywall. I hired a company to remove one row of the aluminum siding, drill a 2" hole and blow in cellulose in each wall cavity and the put the same aluminum siding back on. I was surprised to see they are not plugging the hole at all, just leaving it open and putting the aluminum siding back on. They say they don't need plugs because the insulation makes it tight enough

Should they be using wall plugs? I would think there is going to be air penetration, water penetration and bug penetration.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 11-21-11, 09:03 AM
I'm no expert but I'd insist that they patch the hole up for all the reasons you mention and also to help keep insects out.

I can't think of any reason why not filling the hole would be a good idea...

Old 11-21-11, 09:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'd want it plugged too. What does your contract say?

Old 11-21-11, 09:11 AM
Originally Posted by marksr View Post
I'd want it plugged too. What does your contract say?
The contract just says "blow in insulation side walls". I assumed it was part of it. About half the house is done and they are working on the rest now. I am waiting for the boss to get here so I can talk to him about it.

Old 11-21-11, 09:33 AM
Group Moderator
I don't think I'd want holes in my wall - inside or outside. I don't believe the siding is going to keep moisture away from those holes.

Old 11-21-11, 12:56 PM
they are saying that they have done 5000 houses like this... (seems high) and that because it is high density cellulose it does not allow air penetration.

Old 11-21-11, 02:00 PM
Forum Topic Moderator