insulation and vapor barrier PolyISO

Old 06-04-12, 04:13 PM
insulation and vapor barrier PolyISO

I new here , this my first post.

Climate is Zone 2 Albuquerque, NM . Home build in 1947 .

I'm an licenced electrician and I just replaced all the electrical in the home. I removed all the sheet rock and plaster on the walls and ceilings. The entire home is down to the studs and the electrical work is done except the final. I insulated the ceiling already to a value of R-50 that was achieved by the roofers whom added roofing insulation. So I'm need too do my walls next.

The studs in this home are not the standard industry size upstairs they are 2 x 3 7/8 actual dimensions, and 2 x10 downstairs industry standard. Refrigerated air has also been installed with the metal ducts and returns in every room.

The home exterior is stucco. The original stucco, not including the fiber board is about 1 thick . There is 30# felt paper over a inch fiberboard that meets the wall studs.

Since the upstairs studs are not industry standard and much larger than normal would R-15 work providing I can find it ? Is R-15 still made ? Since this home has A/C I take it would need to remove the face of the kraft paper to provide better drying of the wall cavity. I was thinking of R-30 in the 2x10 for the downstairs. R-25 for the ceiling downstairs\ upstairs floor.

Another contractor has offered me some thick polyisocyanurate made by Celotex, foiled on both sides. I'm NOT going to remove the exterior of the home to install this. Could this be used between the studs? I know this stuff is a true barrier, but could this cause me some problems with A/C . I don't think I can use fiberglass over the polyisocyanurate board or can you? If I could use this how should it be installed ? In any case I would still like to increase the R-value to the upstairs walls if I can.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-12, 03:20 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation