Turning Basement into Studio Apartment

Old 08-16-13, 12:45 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Turning Basement into Studio Apartment

Hello everyone. This is my first time trying a forum of any kind so hopefully this goes well. I recently bought an 1868 church and gutted it to turn it into my home. I need to turn the basement into a studio apartment to live in while I do the rest of the reno, which will probably take 18-24 months. My dilemma is choosing the best way to install the new floor. The basement already has about 3 inches of concrete that is in good shape but very uneven. One contractor told me to drop 5" of new concrete on top of the old and then build from there. That would cost $3500. I already have a bunch of 2x10's and wondered if it would be better to install a subfloor, ripping them as needed to level the floor out. If so, what should I use between the concrete and the new wooden subfloor to eliminate mold, mildew, and moisture? I plan to spray foam the cement walls but I'm not sure what to do about the floor. I am on a shoe string budget and I could start the subfloor now because I have all the 2x10's already. Another reason I like the subfloor idea is because I can run plumbing easier. Any thoughts or ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Old 08-16-13, 02:57 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,278 Upvotes on 1,217 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Have you done a moisture test on the concrete floor? Also, are the 2x10s pressure treated?

Old 08-16-13, 06:01 PM
F
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
Unless this is way out in the sticks you WILL need to have a plan and a building permit. You MUST have a minimum of two means of egress (escape) from any room that is used for sleeping.

Old 08-16-13, 07:28 PM
J