Rigid insulation in the attic.

Old 07-08-14, 08:57 PM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Rigid insulation in the attic.

I just received quite a bit of Polyiso mp-h tapered boards for free (overstock from a commercial construction job) and I was hoping you guys could give me an idea on what is required for using it in my attic space.

I have a 1970s Ranch style home with a low roof and little roof insulation. I had planned to go the loose fill option but then received a couple thousand square feet of this material free of charge.

I don't plan on making the attic space liveable so I'm mostly thinking of use it on the floor of the attic to add some more insulation to the house.

I'm an amateur woodworker and diyer so outside of handwork it shouldn't be a problem but I'd love some professional insight into the subject.

Old 07-09-14, 06:00 AM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I izpep and welcome to the forum.
AZ has several climate zones, so do you ac, heat, both, or predominately one? Do you have and ducts from ac or heat in that attic?

Tapered foam is intended for flat roof applications where the taper results in a bit of a slope. How thick is your foam and how much does it taper?

What is up there now for insulation?

Bud

Old 07-09-14, 07:27 AM
I
Foam is about 1 3/4" thick says "C" taper and it's made by Versico and rated for 20psi if that helps

The house has very little insulation in the attic. Just some 40 year old pink batting in the ceiling. Nothing else in the way of insulation for the attic. I'm in North Phoenix so we use A/C & Heat but mostly it's A/C we have an issue with.

We have ductwork in the attic as well. My first thought was to set it down flat and cut it to fit the attic floor then tape the seams.

Any advice?

Old 07-09-14, 08:07 AM
B