Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

High-temperature insulating foamboard and adhesive?

IL

07-29-14, 08:49 AM   #1  
High-temperature insulating foamboard and adhesive?

Hello, all! Strange question, but bear with. I'm a college student with a toaster oven that I love using instead of the real oven for small meals. Problem is that the outside of my toaster oven gets hot. REALLY hot. Hot enough to burn yourself if you touch it while it's on. And it does heat up my apartment quite a bit, as well.

So what I'm hoping to do is build an insulating shell to put around four of the sides (left/right, top, back). I don't know what the insulation would do for the heat in my apartment, but the biggest priority is that I just don't want the at-least-200-degree surfaces exposed while it's in use. But I don't know anything about insulation or adhesives for this task.

Is there are particular kind of insulation I should be looking for, or will the basic pink boards at Home Depot cut it? And my initial research indicated that Liquid Nails would be a good adhesive for foamboard, but digging a little deeper, I found that Liquid Nails reacts very poorly to high temperatures. So, does anyone have a good recommendation on what adhesive to use, as well?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links

WA

07-30-14, 01:56 PM   #2  
No foam-type insulation will withstand that temperature but will instead become a fire hazard. You would have to use a mineral wool product such as Roxul AFB and because that material is soft you would then have to build an outer shell to protect the insulation. That shell would also have to be a relatively fireproof material such as sheet metal.