Insulation help , Mold Questions , Long post !

Old 07-30-14, 02:09 PM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Insulation help , Mold Questions , Long post !

It's a long post but i prefer to list any info or conditions possible as well as my skill level .

Hi guy's my name is Mike & i recently retired from Roofers/Waterproofers union where i was made Journeyman back in 1984 , i also hold a card in architectural sheet metal & am a licensed heavy equipment operator where i operated cranes , skytraks & lull trucks & most ariel lifting devices & im here now for help , im also a fair carpenter & can do light electrical & plumbing .

My questions are regarding mold growth inside EXTERIOR walls stemming from condensation , any condensation in the walls would have been caused by heating the home via electric space heaters , the prior owner used them because Bob Villa's stupid self convinced him that running them saves money , for 5 yrs i know of the prior owner never used the HVAC system & relied soley on big space heaters .

He told me that the interior sides of the exterior walls would frequently be damp & sometimes have condensation build up behind wall hanging items such as pictures , he also told me the interior side of the walls would be cold to the touch in winter months , the windows are double payne type & would also collect condensation in the winter .