Installed wrong insulation thickness in my garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-16, 02:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Installed wrong insulation thickness in my garage

I'm about halfway done with insulating my garage and realized I got the incorrect insulation...thinking I had 2x4 studded walls, I grabbed the 3 1/2" Kraft rolled insulation. I actually have 2x6 studded walls. Will the extra room for the insulation to expand affect the stated R-value of the insulation? Should I remove what I have done and start over with 5 1/2"? The 3 1/2" is R13 and I live in MN.
 

Last edited by Mattjdeboer; 03-01-16 at 02:57 PM. Reason: Adding info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-16, 03:37 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Since it is a long term investment and insulation is important, I would pull out the R13 and install R19.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-16, 03:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,185
I agree 100%.
Should have been noticed before it was even installed.
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-16, 04:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 9,996
Fiberglass insulation needs to be encapsulated on all 6 sides even though we see it open on top in our attics. leaving the space empty behind the 3.5 will result in a much lower r-value so i agree with Larry and Joe, pull the 3.5 and install the full depth.

Bud
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-16, 09:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Thanks everyone! Upon further inspection...one wall is 2x4 and the other is 2x6...builders way of cutting cost I guess 👎🏼 that is where I was thrown off. Good news is I only need to replace about 12 feet of the wrong stuff since it was the wall that was still in progress.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes