Insulation fill code

Old 04-27-16, 08:52 AM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Insulation fill code

A carpenter buddy was helping me with a project and he mentioned that it's code that the insulation in stud cavities must completely fill the space and be in direct contact with the back of the sheetrock. He says the reason isn't for insulation efficacy--it's for the fire stop. This surprised me and seems hard to be 100% in compliance, not to mention yet another inspection point. Is it true?

Old 04-27-16, 09:01 AM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
I'm not an expert on codes, but from what I know, the insulation itself does not meet the fire stop requirements, thus we need a 2x4 or other member every 8' or so. I think your buddy was just passing on hearsay with his own emphasis added.

I do energy audits and use an infrared camera and although I can see hot and cold spots I would be hard pressed to say absolutely that there was a void. Could simply be a hole in the sheathing.

Bud

Old 04-27-16, 09:36 AM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
If you are using the insulation as a firestop, then yes, the cavity has to be completely filled if you are using mineral wool insulation, and even tightly compressed if fiberglass. So this would be at transition points between walls and ceiling spaces and other places where a fire stop is required.

Here's a decent reference on fire stopping basement walls: How to Firestop Your Basement | Contractor Kurt

If the insulation in question is just for thermal insulation, like in stud bay, it is a good idea to fill the space from an insulation efficiency standpoint. In the thermal case, you don't want the insulation compressed, but you don't want big air spaces either.

Old 04-27-16, 05:11 PM
J
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
We have no idea what construction method was used (balloon construction?)
What type insulation your taking about.
No form of insulation is a fire stop.

Old 04-27-16, 05:34 PM
C