No attic insulation over one bedroom.

Old 02-20-19, 06:27 PM
J
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No attic insulation over one bedroom.

Just purchased a one level single family home that was built about 5 years ago. Upon entering my attic for other reasons, I noticed that one of the smaller bedrooms at the front of my house did not have insulation above it.

I am not an expert at insulation by any means and I am guessing that what is in the attic is blow in type or something similar. It is loose and walking through it pushes it all over the place.

My question is whether or not there is ever a reason to not insulate over a room like this. I ask this because I don't want to waste time and money adding insulation in the attic over the room for no reason.

It is definitely not the easiest area to reach, but it doesn't seem that hard where someone would have avoided it all together.

This room also runs about 5 degrees colder than the rest of the house which is heated by a Propane Furnace/Forced Air setup. This requires a space heater to be used in that room at all times to take care of the delta in temperature.

The HVAC guy advises that the temperature is lower in that room because the duct work is longer to that room than others. This might be correct, but I am sure that the lack of insulation in that room can't be helping (if there is indeed supposed to be some there).

Would pictures or additional information help? It will take me some time to get a picture up.

Thanks for any input.

Old 02-20-19, 06:37 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,570 Likes on 1,408 Posts
I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't / shouldn't be insulated.

Old 02-21-19, 02:54 AM
Received 995 Likes on 904 Posts
I am sure that the lack of insulation in that room can't be helping (if there is indeed supposed to be some there.
Would have to agree, no situation ever would warrant not insulating a ceiling above a conditioned living space.