Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Insulation, Radiant and Vapor Barriers
Reload this Page >

Covering an exterior plaster wall with 2x4 framing and drywall

Covering an exterior plaster wall with 2x4 framing and drywall

Old 06-11-20, 08:47 AM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Covering an exterior plaster wall with 2x4 framing and drywall

I've got a dilemma on my hands here.
I'm a home remodeling contractor for 25 years, we recently finished a "flip" house for a customer. The house is balloon framed, ( stud cavities go from sill plate to attic ). on the exterior of the house we have vinyl siding over 1/2" fanfold insulation which is over old wood shiplap siding and then 1" planking which served as the sheathing back in the 30's, those planks are attached to the dimensional 2"x 4" studs which once again, run the entire height of the home. The existing walls are wood lath and plaster. We, as we have many times before left the plaster up and framed new 2 x 4 walls against the existing plaster ran our new wiring insulated with 3-1/2" fiberglass insulation, installed 1/2" drywall taped and coated 3 coats spackle one coat latex primer and 2 coats of latex paint. I now have a code enforcement official telling me that mold will grow on the surface of the plaster and I have to remove the drywall, insulation and old plaster and fill all wall cavities with fiberglass insulation. I've been through the IRC code book and cannot find anything that supports his, for lack of a better word, theory . He's always been a decent guy and very professional. On a few occasions I've made small changes that I knew weren't code, but made him feel better, but this one is going to cost a few thousand dollars. He is supposed to email me something that backs his statements.
Anyone have any suggestions here? The walls are sealed up properly from the inside.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-11-20, 10:38 AM
Received 311 Votes on 291 Posts