Rim joists insulation


  #1  
Old 01-16-22, 12:50 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rim joists insulation

100 year old uninsulated home

guys - I'd like to call a company to help me with doing spray foam insulation in my rim joists in the basement and also the attic but just discovered that the basement perimeter has a lot of places which aren't accessible. Some have some plywood holding a pipe or something and am wondering if I should take all this out before calling the insulation company. Or do they typically do it as part of their service. When I put my hand up in these areas, I do feel some cold air coming in

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-22, 12:52 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or should I simply ignore these 4-5 spots I can't get to and simply put drywall over them which I plan to anyways since I do plan to finish the basement and make it a living space. Would drywall itself offer some sort of insulation?

Thanks
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-22, 01:10 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,903
Received 250 Votes on 215 Posts
If you can get your hand into the area, they will be able to shoot their gun into it and the foam will expand to fill the area. They also may have a wand that can get into small spaces. If the space is completely blocked you can drill a hole for access. When you talk to them ask about that and how big a hole they would need.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-22, 01:10 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #5  
Old 01-16-22, 01:11 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Figured some images will help
https://*******/68tRg7B
https://*******/WBqKY27
https://*******/h9s6cvr
https://*******/gyzfM2L
https://*******/2S3BmzP

These aluminum bar is holding up some wires perhaps? Not sure without doing some more demolition




 
  #6  
Old 01-16-22, 01:16 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also if I just apply 'good stuff' right now, is it easy to take off later by the insulation professional? I'm not ready to call them yet as there may be a few hvac runs I'll be redoing. Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-22, 01:23 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 1,903
Received 250 Votes on 215 Posts
Those openings look reasonably accessible for foaming. If the installer needs more access he will probably just whack out some more lath.

Good Stuff does not work so well for such large voids. I would not bother.

If those wires with white wire nuts are not low voltage they should be in a closed electrical box. Foaming will encapsulate them, make them inaccessible and if 120 volt against code (as they are now if not low voltage--doorbell, etc.).
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-22, 01:58 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,482
Received 946 Votes on 859 Posts
If you want to apply anything there are kits you can buy for closed cell foam, Google "Froth Kits"!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: