Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Lawns, Landscaping and Outdoor Decor
Reload this Page >

Help identifying a particular shrub/tree, and propogate it?

Old 08-05-05, 08:16 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

There are some bushes/trees I see on the way to work that I really like. In early Summer, they bloomed nicely and for a long time. I have NO IDEA what they are. They are actually planted at a fenced in transformer station, so there is no one to ask. I'm not sure how to go about finding out what it is, although I've looked through some books, unsuccessfully, to identify them. Is there a good way to do this?

Also, could I take a cutting from it to try to grow one of my own? I've never tried that before with a bush/tree.

If this sounds familiar:
It's similar in size to a 4 year old crepe myrtle (10'?), 3' trunk then branches going up and curved, very rounded on shape, with stalks of many small purple blooms, grouped on a straight up stalk at the tips of the branches when blooming. The leaves are about 6" blades, fairly thin, very symetrical blades layout on the branches.
I don't know if that qualifies as a tree or bush, I'm assuming tree though.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-05, 08:20 AM
Bill, you may want to call the power company that owns or uses the transformer station and ask them or ask who does their landscaping. One of the experts here may know what it is from your description. Good luck.

Old 08-05-05, 09:10 AM
C
What I've seen used alot lately in these applications is the flowering pear "Bradford' which meets your breif description.

Old 08-05-05, 09:45 AM
I don't think there's any way I could get that info from Entergy. I can barely get them out to change street light bulbs.