Two watering zones not turning on

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-24-05, 11:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: sb, ca
Posts: 105
Two watering zones not turning on

Have noticed that an area of my lawn is turning brown so I manually ran the controller and found out two stations were not turning on. But when I open the valve the station turns on. What could be the problem? Is it wiring or a valve solenoid problem? How do I check?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-26-05, 07:16 AM
lgf
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Two watering zones not turning on

Most likely it could be one of three things.........You either have a defective controller, a broken wire somewhere in between the controller and the valve or the valve solenoid is defective. What you should do is check to see if you are getting a reading at the valve solenoid with a low voltage meter. Have someone manually start the zone that is not working while you check for a reading at the valve. If you get activity there on the meter, most likely the valve solenoid is bad (usually they are rusty) With most valve manufacturers a solenoid can be purchased separately from the valve and you will not need to replace the whole valve. Bleed the valve too just in case air is in the line.

If you do not get a reading at the valve, check the wiring between the valve and the controller to make sure you have a proper connection. In addition, you might also try this little trick. Shut your system down like you would do for winter closeup and blow your lines out with air. Then, restart the system and check manually to see if the problem is gone. I don't think this is the answer in this case but rather an electrical one.
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-05, 07:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: somewhere down in texas
Posts: 506
check the wire splices at the valves first. some people dont use the grease filled d.b.y.'s to make the splice and even if they did, some times moisture gets in and grounds them out. otherwise use the info above.
 
  #4  
Old 09-10-05, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: sb, ca
Posts: 105
Stations Turning on

Sorry about the delay in replying but here's the update. I replaced the solenoid, no go. Fortunately, there were two unused wires. So I swapped them with the old one and presto - it worked. There was a break in the wires - the gopher did it?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'