Moving large rocks

Old 02-25-07, 11:57 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Moving large rocks

I apologize in advance if this topic has been dealt with before. I did a perfuntory search but found nothing that specifically addressed my urge to move large ( 400+ lbs) stones from the back of my property to the future new wall I have planned for the lower drive.

I have been building new stone walls on my property for 15 years. It is not out of necessity but because I can. I enjoy it. Up until recently the largest stones I have used top out at around 150 to 200 lbs. Recently I re-claimed some property from the jungle here in Maine and discovered the missing granite foundation pieces from the original farmhouse that used to sit here. They would be perfect for the next wall building phase. Well just about any rock is perfect I guess. These are just more perfect than the normal field stone I dig up around here on a regular basis.

Anyway, to the point. I want to move them myself without any outside help or hired equipment. Any advice or tricks you folks might have in your bag o tricks would be much appreciated. I have to move them about 100 yards or so.

And also, is there not a formula to figure the weight of large stone by measuring their dimensions?

Old 02-25-07, 06:03 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
I assume you don't have a skid loader? My grandpa used to have a pickup that he used to lift and move heavy things. He welded up a pole in back that had an arm on it. (kind of looked like a hangman's scaffold). It had a hand winch and steel cable. He could drive next to the object, hook onto it, turn the crank, lift it up, then rotate the arm 180 degrees and swing it into the back of the pickup. If you know how to weld maybe that's a contraption you could make. Kind of like an engine hoist on wheels.

Old 02-25-07, 06:23 PM
C
Going by the specific gravity of granite, a cubic foot should weigh around 165 pounds.

Old 02-25-07, 06:39 PM
C